Myeloma Scientific & Advisory Group (MSAG)

MSAG nov2015B

Myeloma Australia actively encourages and facilitates myeloma research in Australia. Late
in 2006, a Medical and Scientific Advisory Group was established as a sub-committee of the Foundation’s Committee of Management, with terms of reference which have been refined to
the following:

  • To become the peak body, in association with the Foundation, for clinical issues relating to the treatment of myeloma
  • To facilitate research
  • To further patient education and advocacy
  • To facilitate investigator collaboration
  • To liaise with industry with respect to new treatments and clinical trials
  • To hold scientific meetings, including international collaborators, to further myeloma research and treatment.

Prior to the formation of the Medical and Scientific Advisory Group, the Foundation in collaboration with a number of prominent haematologists – who later joined MSAG as founding members – helped facilitate a clinical research trial in the use of the drug thalidomide to treat relapsed myeloma. This
trial proved so successful that in February 2006, thalidomide was listed on the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme.

The group will invite presentations by experts outside the field of myeloma at their meetings, as appropriate and will invite persons with other areas of expertise to join the group on a regular basis.

This group has produced clinical practice guidelines for the treatment of myeloma, amyloidosis and Waldenstrom macroglobulinaemia in Australia. These publications can be found under the resources section of this website.

Any enquires regarding MSAG should be directed to the Secretary,
Dr Elizabeth Johnson:

Clinician Members of the
Medical and Scientific Advisory Group:


Prince Miles Prof Chair MSAG Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
Szer Jeff Prof Member Royal Melbourne Hospital
Harrison Simon A/Prof Member Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
Quach Hang Dr Member St Vincent’s Hospital
Roberts Andrew Prof Member Walter & Eliza Hall Institute
Spencer Andrew Prof Member Alfred Hospital
Kalff Anna Dr Alternate for Prof Spencer Alfred Hospital
Gibbs Simon Dr Member Eastern Hospital


Joshua Doug Prof Past Char MSAG / Member Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Ho Joy Prof Member Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Brown Ross Dr Member Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Ling Silvia Dr Member Liverpool Hospital
Ward Chris A/Prof Member Royal North Shore Hospital


 Mollee  Peter  Dr  Member  Princess Alexandra Hospital


Horvath Noemi Dr Past Deputy Chair / Member Royal Adelaide Hospital
Zannettino Andrew Prof Member SA Health & Medical Research Institute
Jaksic Wilfrid Dr Member North Adelaide Oncology
Lee Cindy Dr Member Royal Adelaide Hospital


Augustson Bradley Dr Member Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital


Talaulikar Dipti A/Prof Member Canberra Hospital, ACT Health


Johnston Anna Dr Member Royal Hobart Hospital


Kalro Akash Dr Member Royal Darwin Hospital
Szabo Ferenc Dr Alternate for Dr Kalro Royal Darwin Hospital