Myeloma Australia actively encourages and facilitates myeloma research in Australia.

In 2006, a Medical and Scientific Advisory Group (MSAG) was established as a sub-committee of the Board of Myeloma Australia, in 2016 it expanded to include members from NZ and every Australian State and Territory. MSAG’s terms of reference are as follows:

  • To be the peak body, in association with Myeloma Australia, for clinical issues relating to the treatment of myeloma
  • To facilitate research
  • To further patient education and advocacy
  • To facilitate investigator collaboration
  • To liaise with industry with respect to new treatments and clinical trials
  • To hold scientific meetings, including international collaborators, to further myeloma research and treatment

MSAG invites experts in the field of myeloma and haematology to present at their meetings, as appropriate, and will invite persons with other areas of expertise to join the group on a regular basis.

MSAG has produced clinical practice guidelines for the treatment of myeloma, amyloidosis and Waldenstrom macroglobulinaemia in Australia. These publications can be found under the ‘Health Professionals Resources’ section of this website.

Current Members of Myeloma Australia’s Medical and Scientific Advisory Group.


TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
ProfSimonHarrisonChair MSAGPeter MacCallum Cancer Centre
ProfHangQuachDeputy Chair MSAGSt Vincent's Hospital
ProfMilesPrincePast ChairEpworth, Freemasons & Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
ProfAndrewSpencerMemberAlfred Hospital
DrAnnaKalffAlternateAlfred Hospital
DrSimonGibbsMemberBox Hill Hospital

New South Wales

TitleFirst nameLast NamePositionOrganisation
ProfDougJoshuaPast ChairRoyal Prince Alfred Hospital
ProfJoyHoPast Deputy ChairRoyal Prince Alfred Hospital
DrSilviaLingMemberLiverpool Hospital
ProfChrisWardMemberRoyal North Shore Hospital


TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
A/ProfPeterMolleeMemberPrincess Alexandra Hospital
DrNickWeberMemberRoyal Brisbane Hospital

South Australia

TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
DrNoemiHorvathPast Deputy Chair / MemberRoyal Adelaide Hospital
ProfAndrewZannettinoMemberSA Health & Medical Research Institute
DrWilfridJaksicMemberNorth Adelaide Oncology
A/ProfCindyLeeMemberRoyal Adelaide Hospital

Western Australia

TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
DrBradleyAugustsonMemberSir Charles Gairdner Hospital and Hollywood Private Hospital
DrDejanRadeskiAlternateSir Charles Gairdner Hospital

Australian Capital Territory

TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
A/ProfDiptiTalaulikarMemberCanberra Hospital, ACT Health


TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
DrNickMurphyMemberRoyal Hobart Hospital
DrAnnaJohnstonAlternate MemberRoyal Hobart Hospital

Northern Territory

TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
DrFerencSzaboMemberRoyal Darwin Hospital

New Zealand

TitleFirst nameLast namePositionOrganisation
DrHenryChanMemberSouthern Cross Hospital - North Harbour NZ
DrNicole Yu-ShanChienMemberAuckland City Hospital, NZ